Okay, yeah, I know. Its been way too long since I updated. At least I have a good excuse. It would seem that incubating a litter of critters takes a lot of energy, especially when having to run around after a mobile critter at the same time. In an effort to save time and a little sanity, no pics this post... sorry. I posted some on Facebook so you can just look there :P
At not quite 11 months old we've come a long way. She's not walking yet, but getting close. She's recently started standing up on her own, as in no longer needing to pull up on furniture... of course then she stands there looking around as she realizes she doesn't know what's next. At this point one of two things usually happens... she squats back down and crawls off, or she lets her self fall back and lands with a plop on her rear-end. Last night marked a new solution as to what to do once shes standing. One of the back cushions from the sofa was on the floor and she decided that falling straight foward to dive bomb the cushion was lots of fun... particularly when this was combined with wildly rolling off the side of the cushion.
In addition to the usual baby noises that can only be interpreted by a parent, we have now added "up" and "good" to the vocabulary. "Up" is used pretty regularly now that she's realized that it results in getting put in Mama's lap. "Good" is still a recent addition so she's still trying it out. Cantelope is 'good', Mickey Mouse Clubhouse is 'good', and an empty plastic water bottle was deemed 'good'.
Which, incidentally, brings up a rather interesting developement. I think the critter is a hoarder. She likes to steal my plastic water bottles from me when I'm done drinking from them. I didn't think anything of this at first. I'd just wait til she was napping or had gone to bed and throw away the ones I found on the floor... but then I started noticing that they were appearing on their own even if I hadn't just finished with one. I knew she was getting them from somewhere, I just couldn't find that where... until the day I caught her digging around under the sofa. Turns out she's been stashing them under the sofa when I'm not looking. Unfortunately, I'm not entirely able to get down there myself to remove them. The only reason I'm not more worried is that they are just water bottles... no soda, no juice. Since making this discovery I've been trying to convince her that the bottles go in her plastic panda pail. I figure that way I can at least monitor how many she's got stashed. Its still a work in progress, but I think she's catching on.
I'm sure she's done other noteworthy things since my last post but those are more recent. I will try to make more frequent posts in the coming weeks, but someone is needing some Mama time so more stuff next time.